Quantcast
Channel: Rob Daviau | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 191645 articles
Browse latest View live

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Buying and warehouses, Box 3

$
0
0

by dcwoodbury

[o]You need a ship in the region because the buy action says that it requires it.

You don't need to take a sail action to build with a good in the hold of ship at the colony location, so ferrying goods from the island to the colony doesn't seem like a sub-action of sailing. I.e. I could buy a good on turn 2 at the island and build on turn 3 at the colony using the good I bought, without ever taking a sail action.[/o]

What about the larger question though? When can you transfer goods between a ship and warehouse in the same region?

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Box 3 spoilers

$
0
0

by ira212

I stop using spoiler tags this far in the thread. :)

Navigator is great, because both ships go home. Tablet isn't nearly as good, because only one ship goes home. Also, once you go home, what do you do? Taking a lot of sail actions to get back to where the action is seems wasteful.

But, I hear what you're saying: you think that tablet is perfectly nice, even if it doesn't let you get out of endeavors that have gone horribly wrong.

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Spoilers - Clad in Marble milestone

$
0
0

by ira212

[o]

Thisisntapseudonym wrote:

How did you come to acquire the first sticker of +1 on your building site? It strikes me as odd that they would have two for building sites, and then choose not to specify. Are you certain that the first one wasn't meant for an upgrade slot instead?
A previous milestone directed me to do that. I think it was the one to get three structures.[/o]

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Box 3 spoilers

$
0
0

by Thisisntapseudonym

ira212 wrote:

I stop using spoiler tags this far in the thread. :)

Navigator is great, because both ships go home. Tablet isn't nearly as good, because only one ship goes home. Also, once you go home, what do you do? Taking a lot of sail actions to get back to where the action is seems wasteful.

But, I hear what you're saying: you think that tablet is perfectly nice, even if it doesn't let you get out of endeavors that have gone horribly wrong.


I don't know that I think it's perfectly nice; it's definitely more situationally useful than many other tablets, which is sad. But you deal with what you get. The game is super swingy, based on your luck with exploration (especially in tombs!).

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Spoilers - Clad in Marble milestone

$
0
0

by Thisisntapseudonym

ira212 wrote:

[o]

Thisisntapseudonym wrote:

How did you come to acquire the first sticker of +1 on your building site? It strikes me as odd that they would have two for building sites, and then choose not to specify. Are you certain that the first one wasn't meant for an upgrade slot instead?
A previous milestone directed me to do that. I think it was the one to get three structures.[/o]


Well, there has been no ruling either way regarding this question, from what I've seen. Might be something worth emailing Rob about, but short of that, I'd lean the way your group ruled it: No rule stipulates you can't have two +1s on the same site.

Reply: Pandemic Legacy: Season 1:: Rules:: Re: Sharing knowledge question

$
0
0

by clivej

To be completely precise, the two wordings are:

The Researcher role card wrote:

You may give any 1 of your City cards when you Share Knowledge. It need not match your city. A player who Shares Knowledge with you on their turn can take any 1 of your City cards.


The rulebook (p5) wrote:

Researcher

When doing the Share Knowledge action, the Researcher may give any City card from her hand to another player in the same city as her, without this card having to match her city. The transfer must be from her hand to the other player's hand, but it can occur on either player's turn.


Hohum. Unless the phrase "to Foo Bar" is intended to have a subtly different meaning from "to do the Foo Bar action" - and I really doubt that - the role card and the rulebook seem to contradict one another. And neither is normative. Whoops.


Alas, the current edition of normal Pandemic gives a third and a fourth wording, which offer no additional guidance:

The NORMAL PANDEMIC role card wrote:

As an action, you may give (or a player can take) any City card from your hand. You must both be in the same city. The card does not have to match the city you are in.


The NORMAL PANDEMIC rulebook (p8) wrote:

RESEARCHER

As an action, the Researcher may give any City card from her hand to another player in the same city as her, without this card having to match her city. The transfer must be from her hand to the other player’s hand, but it can occur on either player’s turn.


Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Buying and warehouses, Box 3

$
0
0

by lactamaeon

You can clearly transfer them before and/or after a sailing a ship, as stated in the rules for sailing (or if some other game effect allows you to transfer them?)

Nothing else in the naked rulebook allows you to make a transfer. (I think it's a fine houserule to let people transfer things immediately, but there's nothing in the rulebook about it).

Session: SeaFall:: Sell me on playing out the games post box 4(octopus)

$
0
0

by raymundolambertrMb

Our group opened the fourth box last night and I don't think I have any chance of winning or staying even with the leader for the next few games. Can you guys sell me sticking with it?

This is our current setup:
Our leader is an exploration specialist who just started branching out into raiding. She has about 80 points, the chart for the next milestone and the only real shot at taking out the pirate. (She has one enmity with said pirate while the rest of use have 4+ due to colonies.)

The next in line is a raider who is diversifying into exploration. He is within about 4 points of the leader. He has a few more enmity that the rest of us with the pirate. He has two colonies. He has the soldier's guild appellation.

I am next with 66 points, and a focus bulk trading and some raid defense. I have three colonies and have the master trader as my adviser with a +4 sell goods modifier. I have an extra sale of wood per turn, the +1 treasure upgrade, one upgraded field and the appellation that makes building easier to build. I have 5 enmity with the pirate.

The next guy has 65 points and a focus on speed and trade. He has three colonies and the merchant's guild appellation. He has 4 enmity with the pirate. He also tends to take all the advisers I want.

At this point I am setup to buy lots of goods and setup markets fast. The last few games the explorers have gotten crazy luck and gone up 4+ glory a turn for multiple turns in a row, which is way faster than I can go even with both markets. (I ended the last game with 72 gold because of lots of event hate.) Both of them can ensure that they hit their explore numbers with little difficulty. And now with this pirate, it costs me 8 gold to buy goods anywhere. Which means once per year I can sell at a net zero for all goods. I can get resources from my colonies once per year which puts me at three resources and one gold or two resources and 7 gold. I may be able to get the +2 gold per sale market, but I am not sure it is worth it. And I can't raid islands very effectively because they are all effectively garrison 6+. Looking at the rules it looks like the only option I have is to start raiding players. I can't keep up with the exploration as I have just the starting exploitation numbers and no charts.

Is there something I am missing that I can do to turn things around? Is it worth keeping going from this point?

Reply: Risk 2210 A.D.:: Variants:: Re: Question about The mother Nuclear card

$
0
0

by marwan_marwan


Keep in mind that it's each player that removes their own units, except if that card specifies otherwise.

:)

Thread: SeaFall:: Rules:: Raid example on page 10

$
0
0

by JimZam

I'm assuming this is an error in the rulebook, but I've been wrong before when I made assumptions, so I just thought I'd post this for responses.

On p. 10 in the upper righthand column, there is an example of a "raid" although the site pictured is unexplored (I think).

On p. 18 "Raid" is defined as "Raid a previously explored site ..."

It should not be possible to "raid" the site pictured as an example on page 10 in the rulebook. Right?

Or am I missing something?

Our group is going to start the game soon, so I just wanted to be sure we know where we can and can't conduct raids.

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Raid example on page 10

$
0
0

by dcwoodbury

Correct. The site on p. 10 does not appear to have been explored yet.

Sites you can raid should have stickers on them with icons like those from p. 19 in the Plunder section.

Reply: SeaFall:: Sessions:: Re: Sell me on playing out the games post box 4(octopus)

$
0
0

by GedTheFlayer

I'm just gonna spitball some ideas based on your observations. Let me start out by saying that you are by no means out of the game. There was one point in my 3 player game that there was a 35 point deficit between me in the lead and the last place player. We are near the end of the campaign, and she has closed to within 10 points, and is set up to potentially overtake me.

Trading efficiency engine is really good in the first few games, but by the point in the campaign you've reached, you're going to need to pick a branch out strategy. Your efficiency engine isn't outmoded, it will just serve as a means to an end to your new strategy, and allow you to stretch when you need a lot of gold for a specific objective.

Raid and Explore are both viable. If you explore, you're gonna want to hit the Tombs hard, and pick up new islands whenever possible. Use your economic engine to start grabbing research cards as soon as your next game to give you the flexibility to win the important rolls, and use your trade setup to get goods that can do the Tomb heavy lifting for you. If you go raid, and you've got good defenses like you say, scavenge the weak. Take all the goodies the explorer pulls from the depths, and keep your defenses high enough the dedicated raider would have to invest too much to steal from you. Or rack up one glory per turn raiding while building wealth, and funnel that wealth into treasures to stay at the head of the pack. Get advisers that help you get back enmity, and hoard your reputation and fortune to take back tokens and keep your engine going. And even raiders have some opportunities in the Tombs.

The Patmos and Ker reveal does hit economy players really hard, but believe me when I say knocking down Ker is not out of reach for anyone. At ~15 points behind the leader, you have enough catch up mechanic coming your way to build a colony conquering engine faster than your opponents. It's all about adviser combos. Some examples:

-Master of Munitions: A Patmos adviser, so it'll be expensive, but it's +6 dice on colony raids.

-Soldier's Patron: Turns an army of two-bit cheap raid advisers into an elite mercenary force. You have as many raid die as you have 1 reputation advisers no one else wants.

-The Lord: Combo with the Nefarious upgrade, and you have raid die equal to your ever growing reputation. Combo that with one of the other options here and you're golden

All of these can work with the bog standard 3-raid ship if you get your upgrades set up right. Add in the Forum and/or Library buildings to get the advisers you need before they're bought out from under you, and deny them to the other players. Ker is worth it. It's always active for free, plus you get to harvest from it first winter. It's like 3 free doses of the catch up mechanic every game.

The other option is you just let someone else do the heavy lifting on Ker, and use your game to retool your strategy. Get rid of some enmity, get some research cards, get a good adviser, knock over someone's province while they're busy. Then come out in the following game swinging.

If I were in your position, I wouldn't give up on the game. That 15 point deficit can be made up in a single really good game once the point cap gets higher and your new strategy is humming at full gear. Plus, without spoiling too much, Box 5 has a twist that is too good to miss out on. Let me know what you think of my advice, and if you want any more info on the suggestions I made here.

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Game 4 Rule Question - Is this right? (spoilers)

$
0
0

by Sycopath

So I've seen official responses on this in both directions and I was wondering how to jive Rob's "...It subsumes the glory for the endeavor" comment with the following.
[o]

iswearihaveajob wrote:

mrcairo42 wrote:

I guess I'm still not totally clear on one point. In the sequence

1) select explorers guild
2) choose the explore action
3) choose an entry in the back
4) perform indicated endeavor
5) read appropriate entry and take indicated reward

do you get a glory for step 4 if you succeed? plus any glory that might be awarded by the book entry?


I did ask the same followup question to Rob. The answer is YES you DO get glory for step 4.


[/o]

For those who have been following this particular thread any resolution on this would be tops. Also here is the link to that thread https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1665988/rule-13-and-rule-7-... about 5 or 6 posts up from the bottom

Reply: Indulgence:: General:: Re: Memories: Current and Past

$
0
0

by demonbunny3po

I am rather curious what that 5% you think I will not like will be. My guess is that it will be the scoring pieces not being interconnecting that I will be a bit sad about. I know it is a silly thing, but it was so nice. Especially for giving everyone their starting resources since I could make four rods at the end of the game or in between the play sessions for the next time it comes out and that bit of sped up set up is always appreciated since I have played plenty of games that are a pain to set up.

And it is indeed a bit sad that the art will not be the same, but that is what it is and all we can do is hope the new art is as engaging as the old one was.

Good luck with the new implementation.

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Game 4 Rule Question - Is this right? (spoilers)

$
0
0

by lactamaeon

I think the idea is that if you get one of the tomb rewards that gains glory, it subsumes the normal glory for exploration. But if you get one that doesn't, you get the normal 1 glory.

Thread: SeaFall:: Rules:: Research (two cards) leader upgrade versus Research +X adviser upgrade (minor game 1 / box 1 spoilers)

$
0
0

by MJamesK

Okay, I've searched around on this forum and found two posts, both that seemingly confirm our interpretation of the booke entry pertaining to giving one of the leaders the "Research (two cards)" permanent upgrade. Namely that this upgrade means whenever you research, you draw two cards but only keep one, as one would expect if you read the general section about research followed by the booke entry for the "Research (two cards)" upgrade and take them both literally.

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/24259814#24259814

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/24018986#24018986

Now, the only reason I am making this post despite finding the answer to our question already is because the answer is inconsistent. For adviser upgrades, there are "Research +1""Research +2" etc. upgrades, and the literal interpretation of the rules regarding these are the same, i.e. you draw that many more cards but still only keep one.

My question then is this: Why is the leader upgrade not just named "Research +1"? Wouldn't this be more consistent, and more clear? This inconsistency makes us worried we are missing something or that we have the wrong understanding of the rules here.

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Research (two cards) leader upgrade versus Research +X adviser upgrade (minor game 1 / box 1 spoilers)

$
0
0

by lactamaeon

The reason is to make multiple Research (2 cards) stickers not stack. (You will note that there are multiple copies of that sticker on the sheet).

If one player could get multiple permanent +Research effects that didn't rely on an advisor, that would be pretty potent.

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Box 3 spoilers

$
0
0

by xen911

Our player who has that tablet has won both of the most recent games by doing this on his last turn and in conjunction with something else, taking certain actions. Building and upgrading for instance when he is normally all the way at the other end of the board revealing islands and exploring tombs. It has proven so useful since he's gotten it that the other player and I are discussing the necessity of raiding him to take it away.

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Research (two cards) leader upgrade versus Research +X adviser upgrade (minor game 1 / box 1 spoilers)

$
0
0

by GregF

My guess is (box 2 spoilers):

[o]that sticker and others like it were originally intended to go on the reference cards until they decided to replace the cards on opening box 2.[/o]

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: The Captain's Log (Unofficial SeaFall FAQ and compilation of rules clarifications and game play information from SeaFall's developers)

$
0
0

by dkonysha

So, I have a question regarding a structure that can be built out of box 3:

[o]Cold Iron Altar:
This building says, "Remove curse cards whenever you remove damage cards". It does not, however specify that the repair has to be taken at the location where this altar is located. Other structures refer to the specific region in which the structure is located, such as the Port, which says, "Remove all damage cards from ships that end a sail order in this region", or the Marketplace, which says, "Each good sold in this region earns +2 gold". This leads me to believe that the Cold Iron Altar's effect would work no matter where the repair occurred, perhaps for religious flavorful reasons that your people know how to remove curses when they do repairs since they have the altar at home. There ARE curses that prevent you from going home to even use the Cold Iron Altar, so I thought that might have been a purposeful reason that allows any repairs anywhere to remove curses, just in case you can't get home to remove them anyway.

So, does the altar work all over the map, or does it only work in the location where it's built? [/o]
Viewing all 191645 articles
Browse latest View live


<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>