Regarding the question, I think I am going to side with the wife and son on this. I think the wording on the card does make it somewhat open for interpretation, as the word "move" could qualify as either an officially defined game term (although I could find no official definition in the rulebook), or for the general definition of the word outside the board game context. You maybe didn't use a "movement" action, but your pawn did move to the cave. I will usually side with the strict definition of usage of game terms, but I am not in this case. I think the intent of the card, if you boil it down is, "you get stuck in a cave". If you moved into the cave with an action, you must stop. But if you are in the cave some other way, you're still stuck. I wouldn't complicate it by making different scenarios regarding how you got to the cave. If you're in a cave, someone can play it, and your stuck there for your turn. That's the simplest interpretation. That's probably how we would choose to play it, short of an official clarification from the publisher or designer to the contrary. But I can understand the other interpretation as well, and would roll with it if that is how everyone wanted to play it. It's one of those things that should probably be clarified before playing moving forward.
↧