Quantcast
Channel: Rob Daviau | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 192288 articles
Browse latest View live

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Glory from Notable Advisors

$
0
0

by Chump

albcann wrote:

Hard to find references for this game sometimes ... you need to take what you can get, unfortunately.


Gotcha. *bending over* *assuming the position* *going into doggie submission*

Thread: SeaFall:: Variants:: Would playing two players with two provinces each work well?

$
0
0

by Cavedog_pdx

Hi everyone,

I played about three games of Seafall four years ago before the other players decided they didn't like the game and gave up. I was sucked in and was having fun with it.

I have a copy and remember the rules a little bit. Getting four players during Covid likely won't work. I'm wondering if two players with two colors each would. The fifth color could be introduced to help the player falling behind if one player gets maybe 20 points ahead I'm thinking.

What do you think? I appreciate your advice!

Reply: Heroscape Master Set: Rise of the Valkyrie:: Reviews:: Re: So you've decided to buy Heroscape. A primer. (2011 Update)

$
0
0

by Wiet

Calixtus wrote:

How does the Order Marker mechanism work in this game?

Before each round all players position their order markers any way they like on their unit cards. One marker (“X”) is a fake out. Then, players roll for initiative. Highest roll goes first with their “1” order. Then all other “1” orders are executed. Player with initiative then executes order “2” etc.

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Glory from Notable Advisors

$
0
0

by Becq

While there's no official ruling on this question that I'm aware of, I'm convinced that glorious items that you keep are worth glory in subsequent games, and is one of the reasons for the rule on page 5 ("Your glory total resets to zero each game, though in later games it is possible to start a game with a small amount of glory from items that will carry over from game to game"). Since the game doesn't differentiate between the various glorious items you can keep between games, my assumption is that all of them fall under this rule equally.

Consider also the counter-example, a scenario in which you keep an advisor that is worth glory but you don't get the benefit of that glory, yet an opponent steals him on the first turn. Since the rules *do* say that you lose glory for losing the advisor (p.19), would your glory total drop to -1? It doesn't make sense (to me, at least) that opting to retain the advisor would be that sort of a liability.

So yeah, I'm with Alex P on this. (Sorry, al Cann!)

Reply: SeaFall:: Variants:: Re: Would playing two players with two provinces each work well?

$
0
0

by Becq

No. There are other threads about this, but the short version is that (in my opinion) the type of player interaction this game has would be broken with multiple factions played by each player. You can play with two players with one faction each, though, from what I've heard from players who have tried it. If you think the board is too open with two players, you might want to take a look in the variants forum for options to address that.

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Where do you put extra permanent enmity?

$
0
0

by Becq

Important note: Dustin and Josh noted, you can (and must) cover up other players' stickers (your choice), but not your own. If you fill up all of the slots for a particular location with your stickers and still need to place more, you lose glory for each sticker you can't place!

Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Glory from Notable Advisors

$
0
0

by albcann

Becq wrote:

While there's no official ruling on this question that I'm aware of, I'm convinced that glorious items that you keep are worth glory in subsequent games, and is one of the reasons for the rule on page 5 ("Your glory total resets to zero each game, though in later games it is possible to start a game with a small amount of glory from items that will carry over from game to game"). Since the game doesn't differentiate between the various glorious items you can keep between games, my assumption is that all of them fall under this rule equally.

Consider also the counter-example, a scenario in which you keep an advisor that is worth glory but you don't get the benefit of that glory, yet an opponent steals him on the first turn. Since the rules *do* say that you lose glory for losing the advisor (p.19), would your glory total drop to -1? It doesn't make sense (to me, at least) that opting to retain the advisor would be that sort of a liability.

So yeah, I'm with Alex P on this. (Sorry, al Cann!)


I know, I know ... I capitulated earlier in the thread.

I know when I'm licked ... 😀

Thread: Unmatched: Cobble & Fog:: General:: Anyone know where we can get replacement character markers?


Reply: SeaFall:: Rules:: Re: Where do you put extra permanent enmity?

$
0
0

by jblackspire

Becq wrote:

If you fill up all of the slots for a particular location with your stickers and still need to place more, you lose glory for each sticker you can't place!


Ooh, I didn't recall that. I wonder if we accounted for that in our games...we had a lot of permanent enmity.

Thread: Stop Thief!:: Rules:: Thief robbing twice

$
0
0

by sweetie2625

Hi! The kids and I had our first playthrough yesterday (co-op mode). We lost, but still had fun! We were right at the end and caught the pack member 5 of 7 at location 464 in the bank, a door. When they took their 2 free moves, they robbed a location twice in a row, causing us to lose the last of our money. Could someone explain how that move is possible? I understand the first robbery, but the second? Am I missing something? Did they not move and rob the same place?

Thanks!!

Reply: Stop Thief!:: Rules:: Re: Thief robbing twice

$
0
0

by timonkey

Both free moves were robberies? Sounds like a bug.

You could still lose in this state, as from 464 the Pack could do the two free moves to get one robbery, a door, and then use the normal move to get to another robbery.

New Image for Unmatched: Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Reply: Unmatched: Cobble & Fog:: General:: Re: Anyone know where we can get replacement character markers?

$
0
0

by Dirty_Job

In most cases, asking the publisher nicely will do. Worst case scenario, you'll have to pay for shipping.

Thread: Pandemic Legacy: Season 0:: Rules:: Questions about rules P, Q and V - September spoil

$
0
0

by Hellhammer

Hi

I have some questions about rules P & Q

Questions about rule P - Enter / Exit an Inflitration Site

I understand that you need to spend one action to enter an inflitration site when you are in an infiltration city.
Do you need to spend another action to exit ? I ask the question because rule V specifies that, if your pawn is in an Infiltration Site during the Clean step, your pawn automaticaly exit and go back to the infiltration city.
Maybe we have to spend an action to Exit if we want to exit before the end of our turn?
Can we exit an Infiltration Site if our pawn is not on the entrance room ? Or should we first go back to the entrance room to exit?

Question about rule Q - Infiltrate

I suppose here that I am inside an infiltration site.
I understand that I have to spend one action to enter the adjacent corresponding room (provided I have the required symbol in my hand).Once Security token of this new room revealed, and provided I have the required symbol in my hand, do I have to spend another action to enter a second new room or can I use the same action? I ask the question because in September, to explore the Complex, you would need to have 7 actions to enter the Infiltration site and access the farthest room.
Other question. If we come back to an Infiltration site where rooms had already been revealed, should I spend one action to go through those rooms (which means that I should have the correct symbol in my hand) or can I directly go to the revealed room I want to go?

Thanks a lot

Reply: Stop Thief!:: Rules:: Re: Thief robbing twice


Reply: Unmatched: Cobble & Fog:: General:: Re: Anyone know where we can get replacement character markers?

$
0
0

by JustinDJacobson

We can replace lost or damaged parts. Easiest thing to do is complete the form on the "contact" page on our website.

Reply: Unmatched: Cobble & Fog:: General:: Re: Anyone know where we can get replacement character markers?

$
0
0

by SleeperAgent

JustinDJacobson wrote:

We can replace lost or damaged parts. Easiest thing to do is complete the form on the "contact" page on our website.


Thank you I did just that :D

Reply: Pandemic Legacy: Season 0:: Rules:: Re: Questions about rules P, Q and V - September spoil

$
0
0

by Anny48

Hellhammer wrote:


Questions about rule P - Enter / Exit an Inflitration Site

I understand that you need to spend one action to enter an inflitration site when you are in an infiltration city.
Do you need to spend another action to exit ? I ask the question because rule V specifies that, if your pawn is in an Infiltration Site during the Clean step, your pawn automaticaly exit and go back to the infiltration city.
Maybe we have to spend an action to Exit if we want to exit before the end of our turn?
Can we exit an Infiltration Site if our pawn is not on the entrance room ? Or should we first go back to the entrance room to exit?


If you want to exit an infiltration site during your turn, you need to be in the entrance room and spend an action to exit. If I remember correctly, it should state somewhere in the new rules for Infiltration that you can move between the infiltration site and the city by spending an action (so in either direction).

Hellhammer wrote:

Question about rule Q - Infiltrate

I suppose here that I am inside an infiltration site.
I understand that I have to spend one action to enter the adjacent corresponding room (provided I have the required symbol in my hand).Once Security token of this new room revealed, and provided I have the required symbol in my hand, do I have to spend another action to enter a second new room or can I use the same action? I ask the question because in September, to explore the Complex, you would need to have 7 actions to enter the Infiltration site and access the farthest room.
Other question. If we come back to an Infiltration site where rooms had already been revealed, should I spend one action to go through those rooms (which means that I should have the correct symbol in my hand) or can I directly go to the revealed room I want to go?


You have to spend 1 action for every new room you enter. So yes, you might need more than 4 actions to go through the entire complex. Maybe there will be ways to do so in future...
You always need to spend the actions, no matter if the rooms had already been revealed or not.

Reply: Unmatched: Battle of Legends, Volume One:: General:: Re: Damn they really went all Marvel..

$
0
0

by tsilver33

gatharion wrote:

I don't understand how anything can be more unsettling than including characters like Alice, LRRH, and Holmes. They are not warriors by any stretch of imagination. Why they belong in a tactical combat game is beyond me. Is it supposed to be funny?

And the fact that I cannot buy, eg, Medusa or Dracula without also buying one of these anti-thematic characters is wholly annoying. :(


To each their own, but I find that an interesting take. I rather like RRH's reimagining here, and would love to see more such fighters in the future.

I'd straight up disagree with Alice and Holmes on this list, though. Alice has had a number of reimaginings outside of her ancient source material that make her into a badass, the prime example probably being American Mcgees Alice. Holmes has also done plenty of fighting, and more pulpy Holmes stories would fit right in with him trying to outwit and outmaneuver bands of ruffians.

Perhaps I'm more familiar with these characters in these sorts of scenarios, as opposed to their source material though. I've never read much of either.

I'll also double down on the inclusion of video game IPs. Hell I'd take anything in that ballpark, though anything Nintendo, Square Enix, or Indie related would probably be most up my alley.

Thread: Unmatched: Battle of Legends, Volume One:: Rules:: Robin Hood Card "Cheekiness"

$
0
0

by Antares62

(Excuse my English and keep in mind that I have the cards in Italian version)
Robin Hood Card "Cheekiness" - AFTER THE FIGHT: If your fighter is adjacent to the opposing fighter, he draws 1 card.
Do I draw it even if the opposing fighter has been defeated, or eliminated from the game board?
Viewing all 192288 articles
Browse latest View live


<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>