by thatmarkguy
AnakinOU wrote:
Stupid question, but can the 3 missiles be played on opposing sides of the combat? To put it another way...if I play two missiles on my attacking dice and Bob plays one for his defense die, do we open the packet? I don't recall seeing anything in the rulebook defining a "combat roll"...but I can see how it could be argued either way ([o]esp. given the flavor text inside the packet...it reads like a one-sided triple-missile effect[/o]).
The 3 missiles will probably usually be played on opposing sides of the combat. In the absence of knowing what the packet does, there is no reason anyone would ever use three missiles on the same side of one combat - the defender only has, at most, 2 dice. So the defender doesn't even have three dice to modify, and the attacker gains no benefit whatsoever playing a third missile - his first two dice are already unmodifiable sixes, making the third die another unmodifiable six will not change the (seeming) combat outcome.
3-from-one-side shouldn't happen, but your mileage may vary with (a) how much people already know about what the pocket does in advance and plan accordingly, or (b) how eager and curious they are to open it that they're throwing missiles without even the pretense of the third missile having any seeming combat-outcome benefit.