by Cliffy73
I’m not sure if you can edit post titles, but if you can, I’d suggest adding that there are Box 2 spoilers in this question.1. The Grizzled Veteran is good, but he’s expensive, and you’re unlikely to be able to use him more than twice in a game. (Plus he’s good enough that he might make you a Raid target.)
2. I believe Rob Daviau has erratted that you can’t use more than the 15 dice that come with the game. But your last sentence suggests you think fortune tokens add dice to your pool. They don’t; they allow you to change a rolled kiss to a success.
3. Once activated a colony would typically stay active for the rest of the game. When you first build one, you can activate it for no additional cost, but you require one of your province tokens. If you don’t have any left (because you’ve been spreading enmity around, as you say, you can’t activate it). In the next game, you have to pay to activate a colony, and you might not have enough starting gold, especially if you rule multiple colonies.
The only way I can think of that an active colony can become inactive is if Alice raids Ben’s colony to steal is, succeeds, but has exactly enough enmity tokens to give Ben for the Raid. Therefore she doesn’t have one left to mark it as her colony. But she still keeps the card and can activate it next game. (Or next winter if she somehow gets an enmity token back and has the necessary gold.)
4. Yes, enmity tokens can be used on offense. Let’s say Alice has raided Ben, so he has three of her enmity tokens in his At War section. He adds that number to his dice pool when raiding Alice (either her province or colonies or ships IIRC). Then, if he succeeds, he can give her back her tokens instead of spending his own enmity to pay the required enmity to represent the damage he did or plunder he took. Every timeout successfully raid someone, the enmity you give makes it harder for you to Raid them again and easier for them to get revenge. (Note that IIRC the only enmity you can use offensively is their enmity tokens in your At War section — not stickers, and not their enmity tokens elsewhere on your province board.)
5. This is right except you need to add and subtract for enmity each player has against the other. (The Raider adds a die for each of the target’s enmity tokens he has in his At War With section, and then he loses a die for each of his enmity tokens the target has anywhere on her board or any of his enmity stickers she has on her province.) Otherwise, yes. Ben raids Catherine’s province. He builds his dice pool as described. He rolls against a success value of 5. He rolls, say, four successes. He takes one damage but doesn’t sink, meaning he succeeds. He gets one glory for this endeavor. The. He can plunder any site on her province board with a four or less in the little blue oval. That includes IIRC fields (unless they’ve been upgraded multiple times), many kinds of buildings, her warehouse, her council room, and her vault, but not her treasure room. Then, whatever he picks, he has to give him that many enmity tokens.
If Ben doesn’t have enough enmity tokens (remember, including Catherine’s in his At War box which he can give back), he can’t plunder that section if her province board. If he doesn’t have any enmity tokens (nit any if here in his At War section), he can’t Raid her at all because he knows he couldn’t place the required enmity if he succeeds. And if something weird happens such that he expected to have the required enmity and doesn’t, then IIRC the general rule is that he would have to lose one glory for each required enmity he cannot place, but I don’t know if that could happen in this situation.
6. 🤷🏻♂️ I think maybe one of the atoll entires in the Booke is supposed to order you to destroy the card but accidentally doesn’t. Or maybe it told you to and you failed. I wouldn’t sweat it. If you get an atoll card and no atolls are left, maybe just draw another card.
7. It’s part of the way a player can catch up in the campaign.
8. “Prominence” refers to your title. It isn’t concerned with enmity, game score, or anything like that. The Lord can use it against everybody. The Duke Dan only use it against the Prince, etc.