Just played my first round of the game and enjoyed it very much though we did find it punishingly difficult (which I imagine is per design). We did have some questions regarding the rules and wanted to see how others interpreted them:
1. If you reach a Sanity threshold early in your turn, do you discard any loss of sanity for the rest of your turn or only for the current action being played out?
For example:
- I fight a monster in my tile but do not beat it. During this attack I reach a sanity threshold.
- After withdrawing a mythos card, the monster attacks me.
- Do I:
a) loose sanity in this roll or...
b) do I discard the loss as I've already reached the threshold?
2. When I defeat a stage of an Elder One, do I reveal the next stage card immediately and apply the reveal effect, or is this done at the end of the turn?
For example:
- I fight Cthulhu and defeat Stage 2 in my turn
- Do I:
a) reveal the next stage and apply reveal effects immediately, or...
b) wait until the end of my turn to apply reveal effects
3. Following the previous question, if a new stage for an Elder One is revealed in your turn, do you apply the end of turn effects for the new stage at the end of said turn?
For example:
- I fight Cthulhu and defeat Stage 2 in my turn
- I apply the next stage reveal effects
- Do I:
a) also apply end of turn effects?
b) ignore end of turn effects for this turn?
4. Am I correct in assuming that once a monster has been defeated, it goes back to a "pool" that can be used to spawn that monster again next time it gets summoned at a gate (I'm looking at you, spawn of Cthulhu!).
For example:
- On one turn, a Mythos cards summons Spawn of Cthulhu at a gate.
- On a subsequent turn, while the monster is still on the map, we pick up another mythos card that summons the same monster at a gate. Since all monsters are already on the board, this step of the card is ignored. (there's only 1 monster figurine)
- We fight and destroy the monster.
- On a future turn, we pick up yet another mythos card that summons the same monster at a gate.
Do I:
a) re-Spawn the Spawn of Cthulhu at the gate?
b) ignore the effect as all figurines from that pool have already been spawned?
Thanks a bunch!
1. If you reach a Sanity threshold early in your turn, do you discard any loss of sanity for the rest of your turn or only for the current action being played out?
For example:
- I fight a monster in my tile but do not beat it. During this attack I reach a sanity threshold.
- After withdrawing a mythos card, the monster attacks me.
- Do I:
a) loose sanity in this roll or...
b) do I discard the loss as I've already reached the threshold?
2. When I defeat a stage of an Elder One, do I reveal the next stage card immediately and apply the reveal effect, or is this done at the end of the turn?
For example:
- I fight Cthulhu and defeat Stage 2 in my turn
- Do I:
a) reveal the next stage and apply reveal effects immediately, or...
b) wait until the end of my turn to apply reveal effects
3. Following the previous question, if a new stage for an Elder One is revealed in your turn, do you apply the end of turn effects for the new stage at the end of said turn?
For example:
- I fight Cthulhu and defeat Stage 2 in my turn
- I apply the next stage reveal effects
- Do I:
a) also apply end of turn effects?
b) ignore end of turn effects for this turn?
4. Am I correct in assuming that once a monster has been defeated, it goes back to a "pool" that can be used to spawn that monster again next time it gets summoned at a gate (I'm looking at you, spawn of Cthulhu!).
For example:
- On one turn, a Mythos cards summons Spawn of Cthulhu at a gate.
- On a subsequent turn, while the monster is still on the map, we pick up another mythos card that summons the same monster at a gate. Since all monsters are already on the board, this step of the card is ignored. (there's only 1 monster figurine)
- We fight and destroy the monster.
- On a future turn, we pick up yet another mythos card that summons the same monster at a gate.
Do I:
a) re-Spawn the Spawn of Cthulhu at the gate?
b) ignore the effect as all figurines from that pool have already been spawned?
Thanks a bunch!