Quantcast
Channel: Rob Daviau | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 192194

Reply: Cthulhu: Death May Die:: Rules:: Re: "Instead" keyword question, Season 4

$
0
0

by Dormammu

davejplays wrote:

The second box for the skill, upon leveling up, states "Instead, gain [2 green dice]."

My question is this: does the instead keyword in the second box replace the entire skill ( and therefore they would gain two green dice WITHOUT any enemies moving to them upon using the skill), or does it just replace the first sentence in the first description (and give them two green dice but still move the enemies towards them)?

Unfortunately, CMON uses this sort of abbreviated skill description a lot, probably because of limited space. It is understood that you only replace the equivalent portion of the rules text, so the reference to how many dice only replaces the “how many dice” portion of the original skill.

There is no distinct rule that tells you this, but if you read the entire skill, you can see the context that supports it, as Ted references in his post.

This exact templating is very common in the game, so get used to it!

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 192194

Trending Articles



<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>