by ericamick2
gvr_ wrote:
Dear all,
the other day we introduced a new event to our events deck. This is Great Plains - 05A (translated from spanish, would read as[o] "mama o'Connell does you a favor"[/o])
[o]This card has three slots to be pierced. While the card is the active event, if you fulfill what the card instructs you to do (discard a locomotive), you can pierce one slot of the three. The card instructs you to retire it from the game once the three slots have been pierced.
My question is: if the three slots are pierced before another event is revealed, do we retire the card immediately, leaving the previous event in the discard pile as active event again, or should we remove it at the end of the game? If the correct thing to do is to wait for the end of the game, it means that there is no active event until another one is revealed. Am I right?
We played by retiring it immediately after piercing the third hole, thus leaving the event card below as active event (again), but I wanted to know your opinion.[/o]
Cheers, and thank you!
the other day we introduced a new event to our events deck. This is Great Plains - 05A (translated from spanish, would read as[o] "mama o'Connell does you a favor"[/o])
[o]This card has three slots to be pierced. While the card is the active event, if you fulfill what the card instructs you to do (discard a locomotive), you can pierce one slot of the three. The card instructs you to retire it from the game once the three slots have been pierced.
My question is: if the three slots are pierced before another event is revealed, do we retire the card immediately, leaving the previous event in the discard pile as active event again, or should we remove it at the end of the game? If the correct thing to do is to wait for the end of the game, it means that there is no active event until another one is revealed. Am I right?
We played by retiring it immediately after piercing the third hole, thus leaving the event card below as active event (again), but I wanted to know your opinion.[/o]
Cheers, and thank you!
I'm afraid you did it wrong. The base rules say that retired events are replaced immediately with a new event. It's on pg. 8 of the English rules at least, in the section on newspapers. If it makes you feel better, our group did it the way you did, but it's still wrong.