by GrandKhan44
TheDocAWESOME wrote:
hemulen wrote:
TheDocAWESOME wrote:
Quick question regarding items stacking with skills. In this instance, Arcane Mastery allows you to treat Elder Signs as successes. The monkey paw as well allows you to treat elder signs as successes + tentacles. Does this mean you could treat a single rolled elder sign as 2 successes and a tentacle?
I assume there are other such examples in the game, but this is just the instance we ran into. Thanks in advance for the ruling!
I assume there are other such examples in the game, but this is just the instance we ran into. Thanks in advance for the ruling!
I wouldn't think so - they just both let you count an Elder sign as a Success
I thought that at first, but the later levels of Arcane Mastery allow you to count an Elder sign as 2 successes, so adding an additional success from an item didn't seem so farfetched.
I think when you treat the Elder Sign as a success, it stops being an Elder Sign and thus can only be converted once. Arcane Mastery Level 4 converts one Elder Sign to two successes in one go, it does not stack the conversions, and the Elder Sign effectively is gone after that.
Hmm, that probably means that the enemy from season 2 that says "when attacked, for each Elder Sign rolled inflict a wound to the attacker" (or something similar) does not trigger its ability against Arcane Mastery Level 2-4. Not sure if we have discussed this case before.